IRPS Council extraordinary-extended meeting minutes December 29, 2020, 20:00 - 20:40 GMT via Zoom

Chairs of the meeting: Limei Zhang and Lee E. Eiden (Co-Presidents of IRPS)

Present:

- IRPS councilors Lee E. Eiden Limei Zhang Helen Castel Duan Chen André Mecawi Andrés Quintanar-Stephano Vito S. Hernández Valery Grinevich Sushil Mahata
- Nominees for upcoming councilor election

Francesco Ferraguti Chun-Xia Yi Ki Goosens Robert Millar Esther Sabban Arpad Dobolyi Rene Hurlemann Gil Levkowitz

- IRPS IT officer Andrés Molina
- Absent IRPS councilors:Andrew Gundlach (sent written approval of ballot slate via email)
Ruud M. Buijs (sent written approval of ballot slate via email)
Mary Lee (sent written approval of ballot slate via email)
Laura Vivas

The agenda of the meeting:

1. IRPS Council nominees were introduced by Limei Zhang, IRPS Co-President: *Arpad Dobolyi (Hungary), Francesco Ferraguti (Austria), Ki Goosens (USA), Rene Hurlemann (Germany), Gil Levkowitz (Israel), Robert Millar (South Africa), Esther Sabban (USA), Chun-Xia Yi (The Netherlands), by indicating that all are members in good standing of IRPS and therefore eligible to stand for election to Council; described for nominees and council members the Statute provisions allowing election of additional Council members at this time; and indicated that the voting procedure for six new IRPS Council members will be to send access code to all IRPS members allowing them to access the IRPS-sponsored voting site, peruse the profiles of all candidates, and vote for up to six candidates. All eight candidates were accepted as eligible for election by Council, without objection.*

2. The IRPS IT officer Andrés Molina described the **voting procedure in technical detail**, indicated that the site will be open from January 4-8, 2021, to all IRPS members upon email receipt of an access code.

3. Lee E. Eiden, IRPS Co-President, announced the naming of an *Election Commission*, consisting of three *Distinguished Members* of the IRPS: *José Antunes (Brazil), Maurice Manning (USA), and Quentin Pittman (Canada),* not currently nominated for Council, to whom IRPS voting members will be asked to send screen shots from one's own email address, of their vote selection. These *paper votes* will be held in case of the need for manual auditing of voting.

4. **Voting results** will be announced to IRPS general membership within one week of the closing of Election portal on Friday January 8th, 2021, with the certification of the Election Commission and the executive body of the IRPS.

5. Some general issues, including **IRPS by-laws**, were raised. The meeting attendees agreed to discuss those issues in the next meeting when the new IRPS Council is established.

The meeting ended around 20:40 GMT with the approval of the above points and good wishes for the New Year among the meeting attendees.

(Minutes drafted by LEE, revised by LZ).